DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: Good Java Book for Parsing Binary files

Hybrid View

Good Java Book for Parsing Binary files

Hi

This is my first time here, and looking for a good book with examples that
    basically begin with the fundamentals up to advanced on the following
    topic.

I am looking for parsing examples that will look at either textual or binary
    files that can find certain sync patterns in the data and extract those
    bytes whether by length indicator or by a start or end pattern.

Is there such a book in existance thatwill show me the way to do this
    type of Java programming.

thanks Bejay

Ps If I happen to get a reply to this - is it also possible to send me an email
    to - mcdon18@blueyonder.co.uk -

Hmm, there's the classic Compilers - Principles, Techniques and Tools by Aho, Sethi, Ullman.

But I'm quite sure that this is NOT what you're looking for. Normally, by "parsing" one refers to the process of accepting a "word" of a formal language in the class of context-free languages but above regular languages. These are all terms of computer science theory; an example of such a context-free language is java (well, strictly speaking it is not context-free but context-sensitive, although...) and a "word" of that language is a valid java program. The task of recognizing some sequence of characters as a valid java program or even analyze it so that it can be compiled to byte code is far from trivial as you might guess. This you definitely should not start with.

The so-called regular languages are of much simpler structure, eg. expressions of arithmetic are regular. So if you want to implement a program that draws function graphs for example, you can use regular expressions, see the package java.util.regex. The theory behind is that of deterministic finite automata (funnilly, they may also be non-deterministic - makes no difference).