VB.NET Question Copy and Paste


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: VB.NET Question Copy and Paste

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Beirut, Lebanon
    Posts
    21

    Question VB.NET Question On how to Copy and Paste programmatically

    IF anyone can help me with this I will be very grateful.

    I want to write a program that can copy a selected text in any other active program (like word, excel,...) then paste it in my program to do some editting.

    Is it feasable, can anyone give me a clue how can I do it?
    Last edited by Raffee; 03-31-2005 at 10:57 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    71
    See more about 'System.Windows.Forms.Clipboard'

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Beirut, Lebanon
    Posts
    21
    OK thanks,
    I'll try it and get back to you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Beirut, Lebanon
    Posts
    21
    Thank you again!
    I checked it out, and it works just fine. The problem is I want to copy from other applications, like word or notepad.

    I found no help regarding this subject

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    71
    'System.Windows.Forms.Clipboard' links with the system clipboard. It is cross application.

    Try this code
    Code:
    IDataObject iData = System.Windows.Forms.Clipboard.GetDataObject();
     
    if(iData.GetDataPresent(DataFormats.Text)) 
    {
    	textbox_A.Text = (String)iData.GetData(DataFormats.Text); 
    }
    You will get something if the object in the clipboard is in text format.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Beirut, Lebanon
    Posts
    21

    Exclamation

    I tried the code you suggested. In this case I have to copy the selected text manually, is there a way to have a function (like a button click) do the copying of the selected text from another open application?

    Like, I open up a word document, highlight some lines, then when I click a button in my vb.net program, the selected text is automatically put on the clipboard so that i can get it into my form?

    I really appreciate your help!
    Last edited by Raffee; 04-06-2005 at 07:42 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    71
    woo.... it is much more complicate than i thought

    If you target on MS Office applications only, you may try to make an Add-in with remoting. I haven't tried before, but it may works.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Beirut, Lebanon
    Posts
    21
    Let's say I am aiming at Office applications. How is this done? If you have'nt tried it, at least can you tell me where can I find help?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    71
    If you are using Visual Studio 2003 or later, there should be a project type called 'Shared Add-in' to create MS Office add-in.

    See
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...HV01098493.asp
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...ce06062002.asp

    Remoting is a technique to allow inter-process communication within a workgroup (include local machine). This allows your program to get information from the Office add-in.

    See
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...wkremoting.asp


    After knowing all the above, the things you need to do is
    1. Creating an Office add-in to get the selected text in the application
    2. Add the necessary remoting module/code to the add-in and your program
    3. Install the Office add-in
    4. Run your program

    I have not tried before, but I hope this can solve your problem.
    Last edited by oupoi; 04-08-2005 at 12:29 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Beirut, Lebanon
    Posts
    21

    Talking

    Thank you so much
    I'll try it and ger back to you.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    hi

    Am also doing the same work.. please let me know if there is any way to copy the selected text from a word file(2007) and store it in a string..

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    hi

    dude...i have already gone through those links.. Actually i got the solution..

    Code:
     Dim document As Word.Document = Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument
    
            'Let it speak!
            Dim jai As String = document.ActiveWindow.Selection.Text

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center