One Application to Control Many

DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: One Application to Control Many

Question One Application to Control Many

I am new to the coding world, but with the help of Fiends and Books I have been able to get past every hurled put in front of me. Until Now...

I was tasked to create a “Shell” program that will control and manage other programs (modules). The “shell” application needs to connect to a file source (FTP or other file source) where it can download programs (modules) and install on the server where the “shell” program is running. I can not figure out how or what the “modules” need to be coded as/in so the “shell” application can install, manage and execute them. My first thought was compile them as DLL. Would this work?

More Info: The shell application will have 2 parts... First will be a Windows Service that runs executing specified “modules” per settings in a DB (XML, Jet, or MySQL). The second part will be the GUI front end for configuration. This GUI will have 4 parts. 1: A ListBox that pulls a list of “modules” from a file source (FTP or other source) that are not currently installed. 2: A Listbox that shows all installed “modules”. 3: A CheckListBox that allows a user to enable or disable “modules”. 4: Scheduling Tab, allowing users to configure the times each module is executed.
    The following link is my first attempt at the configuration GUI form: http://www.fake-engineers.com/dotnet/form1.jpg

My Question
    With the need to be able to add-in “modules” without touching the code of the “shell” application, what would I code the “modules” as?

Has anyone tackled a project like this? If so, any advice would be very greatly appreciated!

Chris