Symbol Scanner File Transfer in VB.NET

DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: Symbol Scanner File Transfer in VB.NET

Symbol Scanner File Transfer in VB.NET

I have been developing a scanning application which my company plans to use on a trial basis. The application is written mainly in VB.NET; please bear in mind I am quite new to the .NET environment. I am using a Symbol MC9090-G scanner to collect barcode data & store it in a simple .CSV file. This bit works fine. I'm running XP & have just upgraded to Visual Studio 2005 with ActiveSync 4.1 linking my scanner and PC via USB. The scanner is running Windows CE 5.0 and .NET Compact Framework 2.0. At the moment I have two file transfer problems which I can't resolve.

1. The most pressing is a manual upload facility. The scanner is successfully uploading data wirelessly to a network share, which is great, but I need a simple routine to "Upload to PC via USB" if the wireless connection is lost for any reason. I'd love to accomplish this directly from the scanning application, but one of our techies said it might be better to develop a simple program which sits on the PC & grabs CSV files from the scanner. I have working routines to read and write files using the filestream, streamreader and streamwriter methods, so no issues there. The problem arises when I try to access the scanner directly from the PC. It can be seen in Windows Explorer as a folder called 'Mobile Device', and I can freely browse remote files on the scanner. But when I try to define a filepath called