text based rpg?

DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: text based rpg?

text based turnbased rpg?

I want to make a text based turn based rpg written in java. Could you please tell me where to start, structure wise? I would also appreciate it if you could provide me with some examples of some text based rpgs...
    Last edited by pyronate; 05-13-2006 at 04:35 PM.

Do you know how to program with Java or is this your first project?

Quote Originally Posted by Phaelax
    Do you know how to program with Java or is this your first project?
    I know how to program in Java, I've done other projects. I just need a starting point because I am not a pro at it yet...I've only done mini side projects

Quote Originally Posted by pyronate
    I know how to program in Java, I've done other projects. I just need a starting point because I am not a pro at it yet...I've only done mini side projects

Start learning awt or swing and code simple gui applications like a Button, Label etc

What i did is before i create the gui use uml to define yoru classes and attribute etc and make a simple console application, after that use the same code and make a gui around it.

this screenshot is very old and a sample project using a console output.

I used several classes for this.
    My own java video tutorials, feel free to watch it.
    http://www.engineeringserver.com/for...amming-b311.0/ Need java help? For beginning and intermediate java coders!

I have the beginnings of a telnet based multiplayer RPG game (also known as a MUD). If you want, I'd be happy to have you aboard.

Mark

Normally, I'd just skip the UML stuff, but in this case I think it could help visualize how the game's structure should be mapped out. That's about the only tip I got, never played a text-based rpg.

Quote Originally Posted by ractoc
    I have the beginnings of a telnet based multiplayer RPG game (also known as a MUD). If you want, I'd be happy to have you aboard.