Offline database update * Advice *


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Offline database update * Advice *

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Northampton,United Kingdom
    Posts
    230

    Offline database update * Advice *

    Experts,

    I need some advice.

    I have 2 databases One on my Server (\\backoffice\HHD) and on on the PoS terminals.

    When the back office changes anything how can i Make it so that the PoS terminals will update thier copy of the database?

    Example if a price change is done on a product the PoS will use the new price becasue they are running from the network database BUT if they system goes offline they will divert to the local database.

    My problem is HOW can I keep the local database uptodate when ever anything is changed on any of the databases on the back office?

    I have the following databases to keep uptodate
    > products
    > Cashiers PoS
    > mutisavers
    > PoS Settings (recipit settings, card settings etc)

    I Was thinking about deleting the databases and just copying them again BUT this will be two slow if I have 10-20 terminals downloading at the same time. also I just want to update the feilds that have been changed eg

    PoSPrice = "0.56" change to "0.72" I just want it to update this NOT the whole recorld.

    Any recommandation is most welcome

    Thanks for the advice

    Drew

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    8,387
    What kind of database are you using? MS Access and SQL Server both support replication for just this scenario.
    Phil Weber
    http://www.philweber.com

    Please post questions to the forums, where others may benefit.
    I do not offer free assistance by e-mail. Thank you!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Northampton,United Kingdom
    Posts
    230
    I am using both.

    my Main online system is powered by MS SQL Server 2000 and the local databases are MS Access 2000.

    how do I use the replication then? I have not heard of it before?

Similar Threads

  1. How to update SQL Database from Flex Grid
    By ryanlcs in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-13-2005, 11:42 AM
  2. ASP.NET - Update database with databinding
    By MichaelChoi in forum ASP.NET
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-15-2003, 07:37 PM
  3. Database programming career advice
    By Austin in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-26-2001, 09:26 AM
  4. Does Database Exist?
    By Jeff Pipes in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-13-2001, 04:08 PM
  5. update database over internet
    By S N in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-06-2001, 12:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center