Need for a way to execute SP, close window and display alert..............

DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: Need for a way to execute SP, close window and display alert..............

Hybrid View

Cool Need for a way to execute SP, close window and display alert..............

Fellow programmer, I am new to ASP.NET and am in need of some advice. I am executing a Stored Procedure in the OnInit function and after it executes, I would like to close the window and display an alert message. Below is the code snippet which executes the stored procedure and closes the window. But I am not able to display the alert message.

protected override void OnInit(EventArgs e)

{

sAction = Request.QueryString["action"];

String sId = Request.QueryString["id"];

int iId = sId == null ? 0 : int.Parse(sId);

this.EditFarmID = iId;

DeleteFrmEntryDS(this.EditFarmID);

ClientScript.RegisterStartupScript(GetType(), "alert", "<script type=\"text/javascript\">window.opener=self; window.close();</script>");

}

}

If I include the Alert towards the end of my JS, then the alert displays, but the window does not close. Its because of the timing.

I am trying to reduce creating extra asp pages and would prefer to do everything in fewer amounts of asp pages needed. That’s why I am doing the processing of my SP in the same page as the form.

Any help would be appreciated.

This seems to work:

ClientScript.RegisterStartupScript(GetType(), "alert", "<script type=\"text/javascript\">window.alert(\"Hello, world\"); window.opener=self; window.close();</script>");
    Phil Weber
    http://www.philweber.com

Please post questions to the forums, where others may benefit.
    I do not offer free assistance by e-mail. Thank you!