dcsimg


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 52

Thread: Convert Access database to VB project

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    49
    Another question

    While defining the data type if we use varient don't they use more space than if we define exclusively what is going to be the data type.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    49
    About that Wizard type form ( with Next/Back buttons) How can I design multiple frames in one form. while drawing 2nd frame 1st frame cant be seen and if i need to change any thing on first frame i need to replace the 2nd frame to some where and then do the modification in 1st frame which is very difficult in case of big frame. can you tell me the exact procedure how to do this and if i am doing some silly mistake.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Orange, California
    Posts
    1,263
    csv stands for comma seperated values, so the comma is the seperator.
    p is the variable that I used to save the location of the comma. p=InStr(Buf,",") so Left(Buf,p-1) would be all the characters from the beginning of buff to p minus 1. Example: buf ="100,2000" and p=InStr(Buf,",") sets p to 4, so p-1=3 and left(buf,3)="100"; Right works like left but from the right side of the string so Len(buf)=8 and 8-p=4 so Right(buf,4)="2000". You could also use the Mid() function instead of right so p+1 is just past the comma therefore Mid(buf,p+1)="2000" also.
    Last edited by Ron Weller; 12-27-2006 at 09:52 PM.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    49
    Can you tell me about frame handling if there are any proper method. I can change the left value of the 2nd frame which one i am not editing at this time to -1000 to hide it and edit the 1st frame and vice versa. but if there are any other method please tell me.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    49

    Thumbs up

    thanx Mr.Ron for your help. Now I think I can complete my project.
    I am really grateful to you.
    Last edited by tava.amitava; 12-27-2006 at 10:18 PM.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    49
    Is that frame method is good enough if I have a long process tree i.e I may need 20 such frames in one form.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819
    There is a member called (hide) that could help u better :

    creat an array of frames [20 frames say]
    hide them all from the proprieties window exept the first one only
    u can make in the next button :
    frame(i).hide
    frame(i+1).show
    and the inverse for back button ;

    that's all, in each frame put what u want separetly and only one next/back button will navigate between them all but care to make the index "i" a static and increase every nex and decrease every back, also u can make the next button.disabled if i = 0 , same for next if i=20 .
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    49
    Sorry, but there is no Hide property for frames in visual studio 6 (what i am using).
    only visible property is there but it doesn't hide the frame at design stage, it hides the frame while the application is running. Your code is fine and the application will run properly but the problem is during design stage.


  9. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819
    Ah I'm sorry I mean all time the (.visible) , it must work well now okey ?
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    49
    To make the Frames all same in size and position i think the best option is making a function to set all the values for the frames. But the problem is what should i set the data type of that function. I have made the code as:


    Public Function ShowFrame(ByVal i As Integer) as ??????
    Frame(i).Show
    Frame(i - 1).Hide
    End Function

    and in the next button i have written

    Private Sub cmdNext_Click()
    Dim i As Integer
    If Frame(0).Visible = True Then
    i = 1
    ElseIf Frame(1).Visible = True Then
    i = 2
    End If

    ShowFrame (i)

    End Sub


    Can you tell me which data type should i give to the ShowFrame function.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    49
    Well the .visible is okey when the program is running but while designing the frame its a mess when all 20 frames are in one form each having same size and position.handling them is troublesome.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819

    Arrow

    Quote Originally Posted by tava.amitava
    To make the Frames all same in size and position i think the best option is making a function to set all the values for the frames. But the problem is what should i set the data type of that function. I have made the code as:


    Public Function ShowFrame(ByVal i As Integer) as ??????
    Frame(i).Show
    Frame(i - 1).Hide
    End Function

    and in the next button i have written

    Private Sub cmdNext_Click()
    Dim i As Integer
    If Frame(0).Visible = True Then
    i = 1
    ElseIf Frame(1).Visible = True Then
    i = 2
    End If

    ShowFrame (i)

    End Sub


    Can you tell me which data type should i give to the ShowFrame function.
    use public sub and don't put any return type , [u can do the same for functions i.e. public function myfunc() 'only]

    and call it like that in the two cases :
    showframe i 'without brackets
    Last edited by Amahdy; 12-29-2006 at 09:58 AM.
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819

    Arrow

    Quote Originally Posted by tava.amitava
    Well the .visible is okey when the program is running but while designing the frame its a mess when all 20 frames are in one form each having same size and position.handling them is troublesome.
    u have two solutions the first one is to move between frames using the "send to back" method when u right click on it , or the second and this if u r creating a real wizard : use the sample vb wizard manger , using the add-on wizard manger .
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    49
    This send to back method is fine and i am going for that. thanks

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    49
    How to write multiline text in labels? I want to give some information of my software at the beginning , how to that?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center