Jupitermedia Legal Notice -- NO PERMISSION TO USE CODE SAMPLES?!

DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: Jupitermedia Legal Notice -- NO PERMISSION TO USE CODE SAMPLES?!

Hybrid View

Exclamation Jupitermedia Legal Notice -- NO PERMISSION TO USE CODE SAMPLES?!

Hello:

I am an attorney and a self-taught vb.net coder. In my life as an attorney, I always counsel my software development clients to check the licensing terms for all code they use in their projects, even sample code.

I've found some great sample code here on the DevX site that I would love to use in the project I am working on -- which if all goes well, will be a commercially released software package geared towards the legal market.

But I can't do that because -- and I wonder how many of your registered forum members know this -- IT WOULD AMOUNT TO COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT AND BREACH OF CONTRACT.

Clicking on the "Legal Notices" link at the bottom of each webpage on this site brings up the "Jupitermedia Corporation Web Site User Agreement," which I discovered -- to my astonishment -- contains the following language in all capitals (with my emphasis underlined):

YOU MAY NOT MODIFY, COPY, REPRODUCE, REPUBLISH, UPLOAD, POST, TRANSMIT, OR DISTRIBUTE, IN ANY MANNER, THE MATERIAL ON THE SITE, INCLUDING TEXT, GRAPHICS, CODE AND/OR SOFTWARE.

This clause renders all of the excellent sample code posted on the DevX site completely useless to me (and frankly any other developer who wants to use it legally).