Page Expires on Browser Back


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Page Expires on Browser Back

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Page Expires on Browser Back

    Hi,
    I have a problem with browser back button in my website on production server. I have done lot of googling but cannot find the solution. However browser back button work correctly on local server.

    I am using asp.net 1.1 / C#, Window 2003 server and also me website using ssl.

    In some pages browser back button works correctly, but in some page it gives the following error.

    "The page you requested was created using information you submitted in a form. This page is no longer available. As a security precaution, Internet Explorer does not automatically resubmit your information for you.

    To resubmit your information and view this Web page, click the Refresh button. "

    Any Help would be highly appreciated.

    With Regards,
    Umair Hasan Zubairy,
    Software Engineer.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Do you notice consistencies in the pages that cause this error? Is it always the same page(s)?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819
    session in those pages expire, or maybe you get those page by posting some values ... and when you want to return back to them you should specify if it should re-post again the data (and the browser may be not able to do that again) or just open a new fresh copy ...
    the common solution is to do a "refresh" after "back"
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Also, what browser are you using?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819
    the browser doesn't matter, it's the same problem for all browsers.. how can it decide whether re-post or no ...
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Quote Originally Posted by Amahdy
    the browser doesn't matter, it's the same problem for all browsers.. how can it decide whether re-post or no ...
    That is not an assumption you can make.

    What if he is using a browser he made himself?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819
    haven't mentioned anything about his owen coded browser ! i think he just want to deal with this error , and i get this error me too several times ...
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Quote Originally Posted by Amahdy
    haven't mentioned anything about his owen coded browser
    *Heavy sigh* This means less than nothing. I've been working for and posting on Q&A forums for years and simply because the OP didn't mention it does not mean it isn't happening.

    Never, ever, ever assume anything; at any time; with any question.
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819
    Generally you r right according any question, but it doesn't seems at all he is going to make a browser ! this is faraway from the question ... anyway I don't know .. let's see his answer first to know what he/she has so far ...
    Last edited by Hack; 11-04-2007 at 05:56 AM.
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Quote Originally Posted by umair432
    In some pages browser back button works correctly, but in some page it gives the following error.
    In what pages does it work, and in what pages does it not work?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    247
    It is a security feature in IE 7 (I believe, because I haven't experimented enough with it). Tell me: In IE6 / FF / other browsers, do you get a confirm box asking you wether to repost data or not? You probably will. This is because the page you reached right after a POST request cannot be directly be accessed by the back button normally. Try the following:

    1) Check if you have set any of the no-cache headers, disable them (after you make sure it won't be a security problem, like for in a secure web site or for pages which you access after you enter you login details.
    2) Try making the pages that recieve the POST data send a redirect header to another page without the POST data.

    (Note: it should be a redirect header sent to the browser, not an addPage or include or import or the likes, also, it shouldn't be a client side refresh like a <meta> refresh or refresh by a script)

    I'm sorry if it seems a bit complex, but there is a lot to explain if I have to explain, and I don't have the time right now.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-03-2007, 04:42 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2007, 04:06 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-21-2003, 08:12 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-26-2001, 11:07 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-04-2001, 07:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center