dcsimg

DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: For Loop Issue and Output Layout Problem

Hybrid View

Unhappy For Loop Issue and Output Layout Problem

Hi everyone. I am very new to C++ and taking a class. (don't laugh too hard at me lol) I have a program due on Monday and I ran into a wall. The programs calls for us to make mailing labels. They must be in this format:

Michael Smith
    555 Lincoln Way
    Philadelphia, PA 24211
    Box 1 of 5

The odd labels must be on the left and the even on the right they should be sent to the output file in the layout

LABEL1 LABEL 2
    LABEL 3 LABEL 4
    LABEL 5

So I need them to enter the number of boxes and it should count up to the number they need. I figured for that I would need something like number = number + 1. We can use loops, but I am not to sure with those. Here is the code I have so far:

Quote:
    #include <iostream.h>
    #include <stdlib.h>
    #include <cstring>
    #include <string>
    #include <fstream>

using namespace std;
    string name; // Is the name for the mailing labels
    string address; // Is the address for the mailing labels
    string zip; // Is the zipcode for the mailing labels
    string state; // Is the state for the mailing labels
    string city; // Is the city for the mailing labels
    int number_of_boxes; // Number of labels neeeded
    int box_number; //Current Label
    ofstream mailing_labels;

int main()
    {
    mailing_labels.open("D:\\mailing_labels.dat");

cout <<"Please enter the name of the person you are shipping these items to: " <<'\n'; //Asks for the name
    cin >> name; //Accepts the name
    cout <<"Please enter the street address you are shipping to: "<<'\n'; //Asks for the street address
    cin >> address; //Accepts the street address
    cout <<"Please enter the city you are shipping to: "<<'\n'; //Asks for the city
    cin >> city; //Accepts the city