Editing the dataenvironment.asa?


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Editing the dataenvironment.asa?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5

    Editing the dataenvironment.asa?

    How do you edit the dataenvironment.asa? We change our database backend and I need to update the dataenvironment.asa file. However, when I open it I get a few lines of code and then jumbled up text consisting mainly of boxes.

    How do I go in and edit the dataenvironment.asa file?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Welcome to DevX

    What are you opening it with?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    I'm working with Microsoft Visual InterDev 6.0.

    It was located in the _private folder which would not allow me to open it from there. I copied it and pasted it into a different folder and then I get the garbage.

    If I go to the file directly (outside of InterDev) and open with word pad, I get the same thing.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    Is the file protected somehow? Is there a specific way to open and to edit it?

    I am working on a project developed by someone else and am not all that familiar with Visual InterDev. Any help would be much appreciated, thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    The reason I didn't respond back is because I haven't used Visual InterDev in years and never used it on an ASP.NET project.

    Is there a reason you are not using the Visual Studio IDE?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    I might be asking in the wrong forum. This really isn't a .NET application but it is an InterDev application that uses ASP.

    Do you know where I could go for help on this issue then?

    It's a little frustrating knowing I just have to make a simple change to this file. I have a lot riding on getting this project done in a timely manner and if I can't find out how to edit that file, it will create a weeks worth of work rewriting the entire application. I have searched around and haven't been able to come up with anything. We primarily deal with Java/JSP so this is new for us.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Quote Originally Posted by guyirish
    I might be asking in the wrong forum. This really isn't a .NET application but it is an InterDev application that uses ASP.
    Ahh....thats why I was giving you confusing responses. I apologize.

    Moved to the Web section

    As I said, it has been a while since I've dealth with Visual InterDev and standard ASP. Let me see what I can find for you.
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1
    "Moved to the Web section"

    Can you provide a link to that post? I would like to edit this file in VS2010 if possible as we are using TFS for source control (which does not work with interdev)

    Thanks,
    Anthony

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-02-2006, 10:55 AM
  2. DirectShow Editing Services
    By thorax in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-10-2006, 01:23 AM
  3. Any advise on editing HTML codes for music?
    By Joe in forum Talk to the Editors
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-2003, 04:54 PM
  4. Outlook Forms and in-cell editing
    By Ron Kanter in forum Enterprise
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-26-2001, 07:19 PM
  5. voice file editing
    By Appan KH in forum Java
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-13-2000, 04:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center