Runtime error '48' Error loading dll Windows XP Home - Page 2


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 31

Thread: Runtime error '48' Error loading dll Windows XP Home

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    52
    Nope, tried it on a clean machine with Windows XP Pro SP2 with Office 2003 and could not replicate the issue.

    Anyone else got any ideas?

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Any IT type people onsite at the locations that are having the problem?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    52
    Nope, tried it on our test machines with Windows XP Pro and Office 2003 and had no joy replicating the problem. I even tried installing it on a totally clean machine. The only thing I could possibly think is perhaps the customer with this problem and my home computer have a bad installation of Microsoft Office and it has somehow affected our software but I'm not entirely convinced.

    Anyone got any more ideas?

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    52
    Nope just this guy is having this problem with his laptop installation

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Oh man.....how about this.

    Can this person, and others, connect to a network or a server or whatever, that you can also connect to?

    My thought is this: If this type of connection is possible, could he, on his end, "clone", using something like Ghost, his entire hard drive, and put it up somewhere that you could get it? Then, in turn, you would load his hard drive image onto a machine in your shop. At least you would be able to see what he/she is seeing.
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Geographically speaking, how far away are these customers?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    52
    Thanks for all the advice so far BTW, Hack!

    I've got the same problem on my machine at home which uses XP Home and it is EXACTLY the same problem so maybe I could try and clone this machine and then load it up in the office.

    I think I'll probably be in the office anyway over Easter weekend so I can try and do something about it then

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    52
    Is there not some sort of program that I could install on my home machine to try and trace what the software is trying to access? FileMon wasn't too much help but I'll give it another try. the only other thing I can think of is to try and force the problem to occur by manually removing the dlls installed in the software setup to see if I can get the error to occur in the same place as the customer.

    Another thing I found on the web is that sometimes a program will look for a specified dll (for some strange reason) in the application path (and not the system32 path where it actually is and was installed) and so could generate this error.

    This is like trying to find a needle in a male student's flat!!!

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Quote Originally Posted by adstheman
    This is like trying to find a needle in a male student's flat!!!
    On a Sunday morning after a Saturday night beer party.
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    52
    Ha ha

    I finally managed to fix the problem. After reading what other people had said about moving certain dlls into the application path, I moved the entire contents of the ado folder in C:\Program Files\Common Files\System\ado into the program's application path and that seems to fix the problem on my home machine. Don't know why but I'll have to try and figure out which dll it is that needs to be in the application's path in order to fix the issue. I don't know why it does though!

    Anyway, I'll let you know which dll it was that needs to be in the application's path and then if that definately sorts the problem out then I'll let my customer know that this is what he has to do to fix his issue

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    52
    Right, just went through using a process of elimination and its the msado25.tlb file that fixes the issue when its moved to the application's folder path

    Any ideas why, is another dll dependent on this file or something???

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819
    seems the msado dll was not registred, you need to "regsiter it" first in your machine so that you kan use it from any where ... normally when the application faild to find the depending "dll" it start searching in the "system32" folder and in the application folder ... when it fails all it pop up a "faild to find dll" error message ... unless the dll is registred in the system and the system knows where to find it exactly.
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    I would agree that it needs to be registered, but I would ask why it isn't getting registered on some machines (those with the problem) and appears to be getting registered (those without the problem) on others.

    Everyone uses the same installation and setup package,right?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819
    well i think any corruption, another program installation, anything ... and of course ado doesn't come with the windows-home so maybe the ado installer .. the installer registration was corrupted in the home for any reasons ...
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    But, it was also happening with the Pro version (otherwise I would agree about Home)
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

Similar Threads

  1. Asp.Net & Windows XP Home
    By Gary Beckett in forum ASP.NET
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-31-2003, 09:42 AM
  2. ASP & Windows XP Home
    By Joe Shea in forum ASP.NET
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-18-2002, 11:33 AM
  3. Windows XP Home Addition
    By John O. in forum .NET
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-16-2002, 09:37 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2001, 03:45 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-15-2001, 07:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center