Replace text in a file from Textbox input

DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: Replace text in a file from Textbox input

Replace text in a file from Textbox input

Hi,

I am new to Visual basic and I am trying to write a program. But I am having problems modifing a file.

I have a static textfile with "code words" to replace from input from various textboxes.

Say I have a file that look like this (c:\kaka.txt)

how many users: code1
    Whats the color: code2
    The best TV-game: code3

And i have made a VB-application with 3 Textboxes for input by user.

Then I want to replace the string/word code1 in kaka.txt with TextBox1.text and so on..... how do I do it.

Please be very specific with code example.

Thank you very much for ALL response!!

Reading and writing to files can be tricky. Basically a text file is just one long stream of characters with carriage return(Cr) and line feed(Lf) characters located where the end of each line should be. So for example in a text box you have:
    Hello
    There
    Which would look like:
    HelloCrLfThereCrLf
    inside a text file.
    If you want to change something in the file you must read in the entire file and then write all of your changes back to the file. The reason for this is because any changes you make may remove and/or insert additional characters. When you do this all of the other characters in the file must be moved around to adjust for the changes.
    There are two ways to alter the contents of your file. You can read it all into memory, that is variables in your program, and then write the new data back to the file. Or you can create new file, read in the old file a chunck at a time, make any needed changes to each chunck, and write each chunck to the new file. Once everything has been read from the old file and written to the new file, you can then delete the old file, and simply rename the new file to give it the same name as the old one.