shell scripting with HSQLDB


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: shell scripting with HSQLDB

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    64

    shell scripting with HSQLDB

    Hello,

    Attempting to execute sql scripts against HSQLDB database using windows shell, but to no avail. I'm trying to use to RC file or config file to authenticate
    db connection. Unfortunately, I don't know how to make the shell visible to determine what error I'm receving, since it's using the method (non-interactive). I've tried the /i switch to make interactive.

    I've successfully used inline authentication, e.g.,
    java -jar path\to\hsqldb.jar --inlineRc URL=jdbc:hsqldb:fileath/to/database/db1,USER=sa

    Here's a sample of what I've done:

    in config file, i have the following:
    urlid personal
    url jdbc:hsqldb:file:/path/to/database/db1;shutdown=true
    username sa
    password

    in windows batch file, i have the following:
    java -jar /path/to/database/db1 personal /path/to/script/script1.sql

    Lastly, I've tried "/" as well "\", neither has worked.

    any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Well it is kind of difficult to offer suggestions on fixing an error if you don't know what the error is.

    Are you having a problem with ALL scripts or just one or two?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    64

    shell scripting with HSQLDB

    As mentioned in the previous post, I was able to use inline authentication successfully with the script, so the script is fine. I agree it's hard to determine what the error is if I don't know what the error is. That is why if how to make the shell interactive, i.e. visibile to see what error is returned. I also tried piping the result (if any) into a file, e.g. > test1.txt, but to no avail.

    any help is appreciated.

Similar Threads

  1. Trouble using CALL SHELL()
    By kevin3306 in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-15-2005, 06:32 PM
  2. Shell Program
    By none_none in forum C++
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-19-2005, 05:20 PM
  3. Shell and Wait Converted to VB.Net - November 2002 Tip of the Month
    By Larry Rebich in forum dotnet.announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-15-2002, 01:20 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-19-2001, 05:15 AM
  5. Shell Hook without Shell?
    By Juergen Thuemmler in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-22-2000, 04:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center