File Open and write to; and error error C2440

DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: File Open and write to; and error error C2440

File Open and write to; and error error C2440

HI I am very new to programming and I was just assigned to do this programming job for work and I am having a lot of trouble with it.

The code here has many different '.cpp' files all calling functions within each other.. One of the functions/ codes has to call to another one 'FileWriter' which should ask the user for a filename to enter, open that file, and write to it. Since this function will be called many times throughout the application, the next time it writes to the file, it should append to it (not overwrite) and in the end save and close the file.

So far this is what I got but it has errors (one which comes up now is '........caltest\filewriter.cpp(72) : error C2440: 'initializing' : cannot convert from 'errno_t' to 'FILE *')
    and there probably is a neater way of doint it. Please post your advice and help on the error.

#include "stdafx.h"
    #include <stdio.h>
    #include <process.h>
    #include "stdlib.h"
    #include <iostream>
    #include <fstream>
    #include "stdafx.h"
    #include "FileWriter.h"
    #include "CalDevice.h"
    #include "LogicInterface.h"
    using namespace std;

FILE* stream;r. Here is the code for FileWriter:

void WriteFile(const char* Log_BPCalTest)
    {

char s[] = "This file contains the test resullts.\n";
    char question[] = "Please enter a name for the Log file containing test results: ";
    char filename [80];
    cout << question;
    cin >> filename;
    FILE *stream = fopen_s( &stream, filename, "a+" );

if( stream == NULL )
    {
    printf ("File could not be opened, enter different name.\n");
    }
    else
    {
    fprintf_s( stream, "%s", s );
    fprintf(stream,"CalPrimaryTransducer() returned %s",CalPrimaryTransducer());
    fprintf(stream,"CalBattery() returned %s",CalBattery());