Solution to "Maximum request length exceeded."


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Solution to "Maximum request length exceeded."

  1. #1
    Mark Riordan Guest

    Solution to "Maximum request length exceeded."


    When making a large post, you may see the message:

    Maximum request length exceeded

    There are no references to this on MS's website, or anywhere
    else that I've seen.

    However, with the help of the Wrox book "Professional ASP.NET",
    I have found that by default there is a 4MB post limit.

    This can be changed in machine.config (entire site) or web.config
    (individual app), by changing maxRequestLength:

    <configuration>

    <system.web>
    <httpRuntime executionTimeout="300" maxRequestLength="51200"/>

    The above example increases the limit to 51200 KB (50 MB).

    /mrr


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1

    Hi Mark

    your post helped me a lot. Thanks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    I apply this config but still error

    hi,

    I tried this it works but when multiple users tried to upload files at same time, due to network trafic it gives me error"Maximum request length exceeded" if you know solution reply me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up May be this help you..

    Hey,

    This is my first post ever in any forum..

    I too am newbie to asp.net.. n faced a different problem but related to this ..

    The solution posted is right but if you make the maxRequestLength in the web.config to maxRequestLength ="2097150"..

    Then may be this might help you..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy hi taher.chital

    i already set value in web.config and maching.config but still it gives me problem as i say in my earlier post, i think i should configure IIS have u any idea?
    Last edited by viraldmehta; 11-26-2008 at 03:18 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Can you move your app to a less conjested server?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    hi, hack

    It is not possible to move my app at less congested server,because it is at my client server

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center