Word Add-in is not loaded if Outlook is open


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Word Add-in is not loaded if Outlook is open

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2

    Word Add-in is not loaded if Outlook is open

    Hi Everyone,
    I have created a word 2003 add-in, Which loads an Icon at the Startup to the word toolbar.
    I can View/open this add-in if I Open an MS Word document except one state.
    i.e If I open a Microsoft Outlook 2003, and then Open a Word 2003 Document then the add-in is not loaded.

    - I guess the reason is Outlook loads a Word document as an editor; -

    Please let me know if anyone has a solution to this.

    Regards

    Neal Gabriel

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    If you open Word and the Outlook, does it remove the addin?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2
    The scenario is Outlook 2003 uses Word Doument in Create new Message, i.e When outlook is started, It loads a copy of winword.exe; Maybe because of this, If we open a word doucument after this, it does not load the created add-in in the word document, instead it loads the addin in the outlook new message form.

    However, if the Word Document is opened First and then Outlook, there wont be any problem.

    This occurs only when the outlook is opened before you open a word document.

    I know the Scenario, All I need is a Solution to this.

    I found a temp solution to this by Loading the addin in the WindowActivate function, insted of loading it in the startup, But I guess this is not the correct solution to the bug,
    Since the addin Icon is diaplayed [Icon Space is Still there in the Add-in] only when the Application Window is Minimized and Maximized / Restore to Normal State or Activate another window... or mouse over to the icon!

    In Short a Redraw is required


    Hope to find a good solution to this.
    TBR
    Neal Gabriel
    Last edited by nealgabriel45; 01-05-2009 at 03:28 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. To add Action Pane in word 2003 using C#.Net
    By priya_shukla in forum .NET
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-23-2008, 07:42 AM
  2. Open a web page in MS Word
    By ken_rgr in forum ASP.NET
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-07-2008, 08:19 AM
  3. Open MS Word from aspx page
    By Jan in forum ASP.NET
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-26-2002, 03:25 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-27-2001, 10:45 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-05-2001, 09:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center