issue + suggestion


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: issue + suggestion

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819

    Arrow issue + suggestion

    the issue:
    why there is always a horizontal scroll-bar? seems there is something width that should by decreased by 5px in the forums main layout

    the suggestion:
    having in the quick-reply box the "code" tags and "php" tags so that i can select my reply text and put it inside code or colored php ... will be nice if there are other hacks for other languages support like c++, java, vb .. etc
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    433
    First - If we add all the features of the full reply to the quick reply, then it would no longer be a 'quick' reply . Truly, if you want to do formatting and such, then use the standard reply or Advanced view. Alternatively, you can always manually type codes inot the quick reply window.

    As to the horizontal scroll bar....
    I'm not sure what you are referring to. Where are you seeing this? On the forum main layout, I don't have a horizontal scroll bar, so we need more information.

    Brad!
    -------------------------------------------------
    Bradley L. Jones
    Author, and more.
    QuinStreet Enterprise Network / Developer.com Network
    (Developer.com, CodeGuru.com, DevX, jGuru, and more!)

    -------------------------------------------------

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819
    I suggested to just add the "code" tags coz it's frequently needed in reply (here in coding forums it's very frequently needed just like when we need the Bold and Italic, or maybe more frequent than them)

    the horizontal bar is seen always in everywhere in the forums under FireFox and Chrome, I can see it in my widescreen laptop, my home 15'' PC , and my work 17'' PC
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    154

    No horizontal scrollbar in IE

    I have the horizontal scroll bar in both Firefox and Chrome, but not in IE, unless I resize the window width to less then about 800px.
    A. Russell Jones,
    Executive Editor,
    Internet.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,663
    Quote Originally Posted by arjonesiii View Post
    I have the horizontal scroll bar in both Firefox and Chrome, but not in IE, unless I resize the window width to less then about 800px.
    Ahhhh...now I know why I don't see it either. I use IE.

    Amahdy: What browser are you using?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819
    Ok today I got it fixed in FireFox, but not chrome, personally am no longer interested to use Chrome coz it's full of bugs and misbehaving, and it's missing a lot of frequently needed Add-Ons [[as a developer]].
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,663
    Quote Originally Posted by Amahdy View Post
    Ok today I got it fixed in FireFox, but not chrome
    What did you do in FireFox? (Others might be interested)
    Last edited by Hack; 01-30-2009 at 03:20 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Maady
    Posts
    1,819
    I haven't did anything! seems that Brad fixed the issue, looking fwd to have the code and php tags in the quick reply box ...
    Programmer&Cracker CS
    MyBlog:Blog.Amahdy.com
    MyWebsite:www.Amahdy.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    433
    No changes made by me regarding this, but gald it is getting better....might have been something in Firefox that got updated there.

    As to a code tag button in quick reply box - I don't see that happening. That would require a hack to the software that would have to be re-applied for any updates. That isn't something we want to commit to doing when there is the stand Post Reply that works as well as the ability to manually add the tags as well. Just type [-CODE] and [-/CODE] before and after your code (minus the dash) and you'll have the code box.

    Brad!
    -------------------------------------------------
    Bradley L. Jones
    Author, and more.
    QuinStreet Enterprise Network / Developer.com Network
    (Developer.com, CodeGuru.com, DevX, jGuru, and more!)

    -------------------------------------------------

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    413
    What Brad says is accurate. The quick reply box is intended to be an abbreviated version, it is not supposed to have all the features of full reply. Otherwise there would be no need for full reply.

Similar Threads

  1. Excel OLEDB Create Table Issue
    By gsmmc in forum Database
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-02-2008, 02:48 PM
  2. Deadlock issue in SQL Server
    By manumishra in forum Database
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-09-2008, 05:28 PM
  3. movenext & moveprevious issue
    By dman in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-22-2008, 01:36 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2007, 10:34 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-19-2001, 07:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center