Multiple SQL servers, One which is mobile...

DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: Multiple SQL servers, One which is mobile...

Hybrid View

Multiple SQL servers, One which is mobile...

Ok, My first time on this site and I'm loving it so far. I'm in a rut and I am somewhat new to SQL.
    My question is this.
    Is it possible to integrate a webpage so at a click of a button OR at least minimum search parameters you can pull SQL data from a remote server and import it to a local SQL server? If so what would you suggest be the easiest way to accomplish this(as far as programming languages)?
    I assume you can query the remote server, create a temporary database and then import that into the local server. Am I close?

I know you can query the server to see the data, but the latter half of my question is where I have no idea.

My other problem is that the remote SQL server is moved a lot. It's designed to travel on ships and travels from ship to ship. Therefore I have no idea how the server is linked or even if it is linked.
    I can't do a link to the remote server full time because not all of the data needs to be imported.
    It should only when there is a problem on one of the ships and they need the data to review it.

I can't give any more details as I don't have them yet. This is a project in which I am being brought on board due to the last guy could only build a webpage with broken links after a few weeks. Like I said, I'm fairly new to SQL but I do know some basics. Any guidance, common links or anything at all would be greatly appreciated.

I know this is somewhat generic and I apologize for that. I just don't know where else to look.
    Thanks in advance.

Welcome to DevX
    Quote Originally Posted by textony