Access the database thru network


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Access the database thru network

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    130

    Access the database thru network

    hi..im back i was not prepared for this scenario my friend is asking me if i can add a feature on which will have another program in which the client will be able to view the orders taken by the customers..how will i be able to make vb.net access the ms database thru a remote pc..

    example:

    pc1-server,POS installed
    pc2- client side Order are just seen on the screen..

    just like that nothing much about the client..just to show the orders..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,663
    Is this PC on a LAN or the internet?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    130
    on a lan sir..

    will this work..

    \\192.111.111.11\c$\db.mdb

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    130
    sir hack im having problem accessing my database i always get this error

    The Microsoft Jet database engine
    cannot open the file '(unknown)'. It is already opened exclusively by
    another user, or you need permission to view its data.

    i tried accessing the file by network i it works fine i can even input items on the tables...
    Last edited by chokies12; 03-24-2009 at 06:40 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,663
    I'm soooooooooo confused. You say your database is on a LAN
    Quote Originally Posted by chokies12
    on a lan sir..
    Then you say you try to access it and it works fine.
    Quote Originally Posted by chokies12
    i tried accessing the file by network i it works fine
    Next you say you can't access it because you get an error
    Quote Originally Posted by chokies12
    sir hack im having problem accessing my database
    I don't understand.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    130
    got it working sir hack..i map the network drive for more easier access..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,663
    What did you wind up doing?

    Post your solution...others could benefit.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    130
    in MyComputer>Tools>Map Network drive.. i map the folder that ill be accessing thru the network so ill just input the drive in my source and not the whole address of the server pc..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,663
    If you are using a drive letter that is fine providing you know that all the people using your app will have the same letter mapped to the same drive.

Similar Threads

  1. Database not properly created
    By Arjuna in forum Database
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-25-2007, 04:22 AM
  2. ACCESS database repair
    By ssk2k4 in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-29-2006, 11:55 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-2006, 06:35 AM
  4. Multi-User access for access database
    By Dave W in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-26-2001, 12:29 PM
  5. Unable to access database over network w/ ADO
    By Brian in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2000, 09:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center