Access the database thru network


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Access the database thru network

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    130

    Access the database thru network

    hi..im back i was not prepared for this scenario my friend is asking me if i can add a feature on which will have another program in which the client will be able to view the orders taken by the customers..how will i be able to make vb.net access the ms database thru a remote pc..

    example:

    pc1-server,POS installed
    pc2- client side Order are just seen on the screen..

    just like that nothing much about the client..just to show the orders..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Is this PC on a LAN or the internet?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    130
    on a lan sir..

    will this work..

    \\192.111.111.11\c$\db.mdb

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    130
    sir hack im having problem accessing my database i always get this error

    The Microsoft Jet database engine
    cannot open the file '(unknown)'. It is already opened exclusively by
    another user, or you need permission to view its data.

    i tried accessing the file by network i it works fine i can even input items on the tables...
    Last edited by chokies12; 03-24-2009 at 06:40 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    I'm soooooooooo confused. You say your database is on a LAN
    Quote Originally Posted by chokies12
    on a lan sir..
    Then you say you try to access it and it works fine.
    Quote Originally Posted by chokies12
    i tried accessing the file by network i it works fine
    Next you say you can't access it because you get an error
    Quote Originally Posted by chokies12
    sir hack im having problem accessing my database
    I don't understand.
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    130
    got it working sir hack..i map the network drive for more easier access..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    What did you wind up doing?

    Post your solution...others could benefit.
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    130
    in MyComputer>Tools>Map Network drive.. i map the folder that ill be accessing thru the network so ill just input the drive in my source and not the whole address of the server pc..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    If you are using a drive letter that is fine providing you know that all the people using your app will have the same letter mapped to the same drive.
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

Similar Threads

  1. Database not properly created
    By Arjuna in forum Database
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-25-2007, 04:22 AM
  2. ACCESS database repair
    By ssk2k4 in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-29-2006, 11:55 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-2006, 06:35 AM
  4. Multi-User access for access database
    By Dave W in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-26-2001, 12:29 PM
  5. Unable to access database over network w/ ADO
    By Brian in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2000, 09:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center