Crystal Report 9 Showing DAO Erro Code: 0xbe4


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Crystal Report 9 Showing DAO Erro Code: 0xbe4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2

    Crystal Report 9 Showing DAO Erro Code: 0xbe4

    Hello,

    I am having a little problem, I developed a payroll application in VB6.0, reports in Crystal Reports 9. I packaged using installshield. These reports run ok on my system. However when tested on production systems (other systems), I get the DAO error message. I figure what the problem is just not sh\ure how to fix it.

    Prob. The reports are still bound to the datasource that it was designed with, I set the datasource from code using recordset. However some strange reason the report still retain the datasource from CR9. any \one knows how to solve this please let me know.

    Thanks,
    Shark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Using bound datasources have always been nothing but problems.

    Unbind it in crystal reports and do all the connecting via code.

    Another way would be to make sure all computers have the exact same folder structure you used on your development machine. That is a cheesy way out but it usually works.
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Hack View Post
    Using bound datasources have always been nothing but problems.

    Unbind it in crystal reports and do all the connecting via code.

    Another way would be to make sure all computers have the exact same folder structure you used on your development machine. That is a cheesy way out but it usually works.
    Thanks Hack,

    I actually get it to work using the same directory structures. As you said thats a corny way out. The thing is if you remove the datasource in crystal report, all the filed names will go too. This means you would have to find a way to set up the fields, sections and groups in CR9 from VB6 code, as anyone ever done that before....?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Quote Originally Posted by DaShark View Post
    This means you would have to find a way to set up the fields, sections and groups in CR9 from VB6 code, as anyone ever done that before....?
    Of course we will leave the question out in the open, but I would venture to say no...that would be a lot of work and I'm not sure the return would be worth it.
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-31-2009, 03:07 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2008, 09:36 AM
  3. Visual basic 6 with crystal report
    By imagetvr in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-21-2008, 09:03 AM
  4. how to redistribute crystal report 11
    By gsreejit_79 in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-28-2006, 01:55 PM
  5. VS.Net and Code Behind
    By Chaitanya Marvici in forum ASP.NET
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-21-2003, 10:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center