What do you do in IIS if you get an error when trying to start your default web site?


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: What do you do in IIS if you get an error when trying to start your default web site?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    134

    What do you do in IIS if you get an error when trying to start your default web site?

    What do you do in IIS if you get an error when trying to start your default web site and it says that it cannot be started because another web site may be using the same port?

    For some reason I have IIS 6 and IIS 7 on the same machine. I seem to be unable to start IIS 7 but it seems I can in IIS 6. Yet, I am able to see c:\inetpub\wwwroot\iisstart.htm but I am not able to see a viable http://localhost

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    8,387
    I would try to figure out which other process is using the port. Try executing this command from a command prompt:

    netstat -ao | findstr 0.0:80

    The output should look something like this:

    TCP 0.0.0.0:80 MACHINE_NAME:0 LISTENING 1656

    The number at the end (1656, in this case) is a process ID. Open Task Manager and click View -> Select Columns... Check the box next to PID (Process Identifier). You can then find the process ID returned by netstat and determine which process is using the port, and end it.

    Alternatively, you can configure IIS to use a different port.
    Phil Weber
    http://www.philweber.com

    Please post questions to the forums, where others may benefit.
    I do not offer free assistance by e-mail. Thank you!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    134
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Weber View Post
    I would try to figure out which other process is using the port. Try executing this command from a command prompt:

    netstat -ao | findstr 0.0:80

    The output should look something like this:

    TCP 0.0.0.0:80 MACHINE_NAME:0 LISTENING 1656

    The number at the end (1656, in this case) is a process ID. Open Task Manager and click View -> Select Columns... Check the box next to PID (Process Identifier). You can then find the process ID returned by netstat and determine which process is using the port, and end it.

    Alternatively, you can configure IIS to use a different port.
    Do you mean:
    netsat -abn
    ?

    When I type
    netstat -ao | findstr 0.0:80
    the system kind of hangs

    If I type netsat -abn the process ID column is missing. Why would that be? How can I make it present the process ID column?

    (update) It looks like I spoke too soon. I am getting some results now
    Last edited by Complete; 12-30-2009 at 10:29 PM. Reason: (update) It looks like I spoke too soon

Similar Threads

  1. Skin a web site
    By sremiger in forum ASP.NET
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-17-2006, 12:52 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-09-2003, 10:06 PM
  3. Why use XML?
    By Brian in forum XML
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-10-2003, 09:39 PM
  4. SITE RAIDER LAUNCHES
    By Chris McKie in forum xml.announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2002, 02:36 PM
  5. Web Site and UDL API
    By Darta in forum Web
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-16-2000, 01:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center