writing/calling a .DLL in VB (visual studio 2010)

DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: writing/calling a .DLL in VB (visual studio 2010)

writing/calling a .DLL in VB (visual studio 2010)

Visual Studio 2010 (VB)

I want to call the function do_barcode() in the dll AxBarcodeCG.dll

i have added a reference to axbarcode to the project containing the caller code, but when i run it i get the error "Unable to find an entry point named 'do_barcode' in DLL 'axbarcodecg'."

can anyone see what i am doing wrong?

PS i am new to VS 2010 and DLL writing.

PPS there is probably a more elegant way to build a printer escape sequence that the one i have used,.

thanks in advance.

// *************************************************** //
    AxBarcodeCG.dll

Public Class AxBarcodeCG

Public Const DLL_PROCESS_DETACH = 0
    Public Const DLL_PROCESS_ATTACH = 1
    Public Const DLL_THREAD_ATTACH = 2
    Public Const DLL_THREAD_DETACH = 3

Public Function DllMain(ByVal hInst As Long, ByVal fdwReason As Long,
    ByVal lpvReserved As Long) As Boolean
    Select Case fdwReason
    Case DLL_PROCESS_DETACH
    ' No per-process cleanup needed
    Case DLL_PROCESS_ATTACH
    DllMain = True
    Case DLL_THREAD_ATTACH
    ' No per-thread initialization needed
    Case DLL_THREAD_DETACH
    ' No per-thread cleanup needed
    End Select

End Function

Public Function do_barcode(ByVal var As String) As String

Dim myString As String

myString = Chr(27) + Chr(16) + Chr(65) + Chr(8) + Chr(4) + Chr(0) + Chr(0) + Chr(3) + Chr(1) + Chr(1) + Chr(1) + Chr(1)
    myString = myString + Chr(27) + Chr(16) + Chr(66) + Chr(14) + Chr(65) + "1111-1234567" + Chr(103)

Return myString

End Function

End Class

// ************************************************************************* //

// Caller Code

Public Class Form1
    Private Declare Function do_barcode Lib "axbarcodecg" (ByVal escapestr As String) As String