ActiveX blows up IE when using cab


DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: ActiveX blows up IE when using cab

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    13

    ActiveX blows up IE when using cab

    So I built an ActiveX control into ocx...
    Used 'Package and Deployment Wizard" to create the cab.
    The ActiveX is built using VB6

    The ocx has 2 buttons and a text box.
    When first button is clicked it talks to a 3rd party dll to grab input from sound card and process it.

    When I fire up the page created by the 'wizard' it blows u IE as soon as I hit the first (record) button.
    The error I get is something like
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------|
    Internet Explorer |
    AppName:iexplore.exe AppVer:6.0.2900.2180 ModName: msvbvm60.dll |
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------|


    The code in html page only contains this (with html, head and body off course):
    Code:
    <OBJECT ID="eSign"
    CLASSID="CLSID:185A3ED0-05B9-4585-97EC-27EC9B031532"
    CODEBASE="eSign.CAB#version=1,0,0,10">
    </OBJECT>
    If I tell it to use
    Code:
    CODEBASE="eSign.OCX"
    it behaves.
    I accessed the test page created by wizard both through local IIS and directly by clicking on the htm page it created with same result.

    I am in a corporate environment so modifying IE security settings is next to impossible.

    Any idea what this might be?
    Would wrong classid cause this (have no idea what classid does)?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    The only thing the CAB file is good for is installing the component.

    Once installed and properly registered, the OCX file itself is the important part, so it would make sense to tell your codebase to use that.
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    13
    Thanks Hack...
    Things are clearing up (slowly)

    So, technically I could do this.
    Create a cab.
    Tell the page to use that.
    And once I'm sure every user has what they need, change the codebase to use just ocx.
    Does that make sense?

    If the cab is signed will IE allow it to push files to System32 dir and register it in ..well ... registry ... ?
    If it's signed will IE be able to 'talk' to ActiveX control using JavaScript ...
    or will that still be considered unsafe ... and be blocked?
    Last edited by amchi; 11-11-2008 at 01:29 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,666
    Lets get to a fundamental base of reference here.

    You created an OCX control, and you need this control for clients to interact with your web site? What exactly is the purpose of this control and why would I, as a user of your web site, need it?

    If you are in a corporate environment, couldn't you just ship this install out to all machines so your web site doesn't have to worry about installing it?
    I don't answer coding questions via PM or Email. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum section.
    Please use [Code]your code goes in here[/Code] tags when posting code.
    Before posting your question, did you look here?
    Got a question on Linux? Visit our Linux sister site.
    Modifications Required For VB6 Apps To Work On Vista

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    13
    You created an OCX control, and you need this control for clients to interact with your web site?
    -Yes
    What exactly is the purpose of this control and why would I, as a user of your web site, need it?
    The purpose is to capture sound card output.
    If you are in a corporate environment, couldn't you just ship this install out to all machines so your web site doesn't have to worry about installing it?
    Would love to do that.
    It would take forever to find out who is in charge of such a thing (if allowed at all).
    Lots of red tape.

    My biggest problem is that when I deploy the control (locally or remote IIS) it just blows my IE up ...
    If I fire up the ActiveX solution it opens IE window with "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VB98\eSign.html" .....that only has a classid reference...and this is the only time control works.

    I just realized that it works when I use classid reference instead of CAB o n l y if the ActiveX VB project is running ....

    Not sure if this makes a difference ....
    ClassId reference in registry for this control has an entry for InProcServer like "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VB98\VB6DEBUG.DLL"

    ClassId for deployed control has a InProcServer reference set to a full path to the control inside a Visual Studio project ...


    Starting to hate ActiveX .....(even though it's pretty cool that I can talk to sound card and whatnot)

Similar Threads

  1. ActiveX component can't create object
    By frumbert in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-27-2009, 01:16 AM
  2. ATL ActiveX Handling Events
    By SteveGreen in forum C++
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-23-2007, 11:49 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-05-2001, 03:17 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-05-2001, 03:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center