DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: Addition of Stings in C++

Talking Addition of Stings in C++

hi i just started learning c++. I have been using turing and java but i thought its always best to start learning as a total newbie :P

well i was trying to make a program using functions and i had some problem adding strings e.g.

if string a is "hello"
    string b is "world"

string c should add a and b so its stores the string "helloworld"

the + thing doesnt work like it does in java or turing..

any help?

im using visual studio .net 2003

C++ std::string is not the same as Java's String.

You need to #include <string>

then:

using std::string;
    string a = "hello";
    string b="world";
    string c=a+b;
    Danny Kalev

Quote Originally Posted by Danny
    C++ std::string is not the same as Java's String.

You need to #include <string>

then:

using std::string;
    string a = "hello";
    string b="world";
    string c=a+b;
    o wow thanx :D

its funny how string is common in programs and c++ has a separate header for it

Well, that's C++. You need to #include the specific libraries you're program will use. I don't think Java is very different in this respect. You also need to import the right packages in Java if you want to use them, don't you?
    Danny Kalev

yea but atleast u dont have to import stuff for the very basic things like strings and stuff

Well, C++ isn't Java for bad or good. The best way to learn a new language is to start thinking in that language instead of looking for the former language's features. BTW, if you want strings without header files you can use char *. Not that I would recommend it...
    Danny Kalev

you cannot do much in C++ without including the correct headers, lesson #1. The same 10 or 15 headers will unlock almost everything in the language, and you can do a LOT with only 5 or 6 of them.