DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: URL masking

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    13

    Question URL masking

    Hi there I need help if anybody can, I used the search and not much came up relating to my problem.

    I run a flight sim squadron and one of my members has a domain name www.414dragons.com I have webspace for my current website which I am still in the process of making, anyhow www.414dragons.com resloves to http://www.purelypcs.co.uk/f16/index.html.

    what I would like if possible is that the url in the address bar stays as www.414dragons.com and not http://www.purelypcs.co.uk/f16/index.html

    is there anyway of doing this, my friend who has the domain has forwarded the domain to that folder

    I heard that frames could do the trick, as I did have http://414dragons.no-ip.org and that masked the url ok, but my members want the www.414dragons.com

    I tried some frames but did'nt have much luck with it, the page either kept reloading or did'nt load at all, in both cases the url changed

    if frames is the answer and somone who who knows the secret could they please post a step by step guide for putting what url where in which frame etc, as I dont have much of a clue about this

    Many Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    413
    Frames would do it. Not sure its the solution you want but it will not change the url in the address bar.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    13
    I have tried so many now and they dont do anything much to clarify, www.414dragons.com is pointing at www.purelypcs.co.uk/f16/index.html

    I did have the no-ip.org pointing at it and it did mask it, when I looked at the code it was frames but if refered back to google for some reason, I was unable to change the code for www.414dragons.com though

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    413
    There is no frame on that page. A frame is essentially a master html document which contains other html documents and displays them within it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    413
    Another thing I should mention, the easiest way for frames to work for you in this situation, is for you to also load YOUR page in a frame as well. You would still have an index page as you do now, but that page would contain the frameset declaration, something like this:

    <frameset rows="100px,*" frameborder="0" framespacing="0" >

    <frame name="header" src="Pages/header3.htm" scrolling="no"noresize="noresize" >

    </frameset>

    I simplified it so that it only has 2 frames like yours would have.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    13
    thanks for the advice JPnyc

    I was thinking what you said and I went back to what no-ip.com had when I used theirs they masked my url without any interatcion from me

    here is their source html

    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
    <html>
    <!-- WEB REDIRECTION PROVIDED BY NO-IP.COM http://www.no-ip.com/ -->
    <head>
    <TITLE>414th Silver Dragons HQ</TITLE>
    <meta name="keywords" content="fox 1,fox 2,fox3,fox 4,check my six,splash 1,weapons free">
    <meta name="description" content="Falcon 4 Allied Force Clan">
    <link rel="icon" href="http://www.purelypcs.co.uk/test/index.html/favicon.ico" type="image/ico">
    <link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.purelypcs.co.uk/test/index.html/favicon.ico">
    </head>
    <!--
    <script language="JavaScript">
    if(window != top) {
    top.location.href = location.href;
    }
    </script>
    -->
    <frameset rows="*,29" >
    <frame src="http://www.purelypcs.co.uk/test/index.html" name="redir_frame" frameborder=0>

    <frame src="http://414dragons.no-ip.org/KHgKKjl_popupgoogle.html" noresize="noresize" scrolling="no" name="ad_frame"
    frameborder="0">
    <noframes>
    Sorry, your browser does not support frames. Click <a href="http://www.purelypcs.co.uk/f16/index.html" TARGET=_top>here</A>
    </noframes>
    </frameset>

    </html>

    so what I did I moved the website to http://www.purelypcs.co.uk/test/index.html

    with the main index.html with the redirect frame on it and then I reffereed it to the new site

    so the old redirect going to www.purelpycs.co.uk/f16/index.html

    I entered the new url in the source http://www.purelypcs.co.uk/test/index.html, and now the url stays on www.purelpycs.co.uk/f16/index.html although the webite is in another directory.

    if say I get my friend to point the domain back to enomcentral I think he has some small webspace their, with this code, it should keep the www.414dragons.com in the address bar right.

    sorry if I am barking up the wrong tree here, I know it can be done and this place is my best lead so far as hardly anyone has a clue about this stuff

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    413
    Well those are frames and if that were the index page on YOUR site, then all the sites you load in the bottom frame would retain your domain in the address bar. If you move it to another domain, then I would think it would show that domain. You don't need any redirect if you have frames

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    13
    one more question I am hoping you can answer this,

    say the domain www.414dragons.com is pointing at my friends webspace and we put the frames on his space, when the frame loads my page inside of that frame which side will use the most bandwidth, what I mean by that is if the site is loaded in the frame will my bandwidth be used more or his aswell when loading the site

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    413
    No difference. Once your page is loaded from your server, it'll use the bandwidth it would use if it was being called from your server. But there is no reason to do it that way, it's convoluted. If the frameset is on your domain and you load his page in one of the frames, your domain will show up in the addy bar.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    13
    if the frameset is on another host where 414dragons resides would it still show my domain name in the addy bar?
    Last edited by Amos; 06-03-2007 at 06:02 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    413
    Your domain is 414dragons yes? Then if the frameset page is the index page on that site, then that's the domain it would show. If it's on his site it will show his domain.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    413
    take this site for an example. gkarchitects.biz. Click any of the links, and you'll see that there's no change in the address bar. Now, they're all on the same domain, but it doesn't matter. If there were no frames on the page, you would see the name of the page you're on in the addy bar. In this case there is no change because a frame is used (actually an iframe but same difference)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    13
    brillaint then thats what I will get him to do repoint the domain back to enom hoping he has webspace put the frameset on there, and hoping again that loading the website through a frame from enom wont use up all his bandwidth

    I saw the website you said and yes I see the iframe, just hope it all works ok,
    Last edited by Amos; 06-03-2007 at 06:09 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    413
    Won't use up any more bandwidth than if they were loading it from his site.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    13
    thanks for your help mate, I have been on many forums and I have learnt a fair amount just from you many thanks

Similar Threads

  1. WebCrawler program not working properly
    By bdjos1 in forum Java
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-05-2006, 10:31 AM
  2. Encypting a URL
    By John Butler in forum ASP.NET
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-26-2002, 04:53 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-31-2002, 05:17 PM
  4. Caching the URL
    By gvt in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-2001, 09:47 AM
  5. Caching the URL
    By gvt in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-2001, 09:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center