DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is a variable an object?

Is a variable an object?

This is probably a dumb question but I'm really new to C++. I understand that a class creates a custom type. And when you instantiate it, you make an instance of the object. This is obviously very similar to creating a simple variable, so is a variable considered an object as well? Fundamental types don't seem to have member functions or data members like objects.

Yes, btw, I have searched for an answer to this before I posted. I've actually been searching for a week and have gotten mixed answers.

Yes is the same.

These terms are slightly overalpping. An object in the C++ world usually refers to an instance of a class, and sometimes it's called a class object to make the intention clearer. In the C world, an object is a variable or a constant.
    When reading text in "standardese" objects have the collective meaning of class objects and variables, i.e., a chunk of a memory that contains some value. In less official texts, for example newsgroup posts, one usually uses 'object' in the sense of a class object, and 'variable' for any POD type such as int, char etc.
    BTW, this isn't a dumb question at all.
    Danny Kalev

They are cosidered same. However for a complex class C
    C a;
    C b;

a=b (can throw exceptions,make your program crash)
    however int a ,b;
    a=b; will always work.

a=b; //assuming these are class objects
    Doesn't have to throw. It depends on how the copy-ctor, assignment operators etc. are implemented.

as for assigning two variables: surprisingly, you can have an exception here too (a trap actually) if one of the variables is a NaN for example. Therefore, this generalization is at best very loose.
    Danny Kalev

as Danny said, they're both a chunk of memory.

Well, you probably know what a constructor is,
    so you can say: