DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: setting tab index

setting tab index

Hello!

In Java, what command that we can use to set tab index? For example, I have 4 JTextFields as inputs, and I only want to press TAB button in my keyboard in order to move it down.

Thank you guys!

The press of a key will generate a KeyEvent. Create a listener which listens to the events and, if the TAB key is pressed, then switches focus to the "next" of your textfields.

The Java Tutorial has a "How to Write a Key Listener" entry in the Swing trail:

http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutor...ylistener.html

thanks..

Well, I didnt know that it would be that hard just to set my tab index.

A.

I would not characterize it as "hard" ... but that's a matter of perception, I guess. How else do you suggest we intercept the OS's hardware handler?

I am very new to JAVA programming; thus, I dont have any suggestions. I actually could press TAB button and the cursor moved from one JTextField to another. But, the problem is that I have another JTextFields which are not "editable;" I want to skip these JTextFields.

Also, I want to make ENTER key works, but it always gives me error. Same as disabling them. My instructor said that rather than putting error box whenever user put string inputs, it would be better if we use key listener to disable all the words (e.g. a, s, d, f, g, h, j, etc,) and only enabling the numbers (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,0).

I used so many error box, I'm afraid that he would take points off from me. I have the lowest mark on yesterday's quiz; so, I have to get full points in the project.

Sorry for the late reply, I was sleeping. I am in another side of the world, so we have different time zone. I would never ever take online classes anymore while I'm taking a summer off hahaha....

THANK YOU

A

Post Re : setting tab index

Quote Originally Posted by adityatan