DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Convert From Visual Studio 2008 code to Visual Studio 2005 code

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    102

    Cool Convert From Visual Studio 2008 code to Visual Studio 2005 code

    I had created my website in in Visual Studio 2008 in our college, but now I want to run this website at my home,but problem is I have Visual Studio 2005 at my home, so please tell me how can I run this website on Visual Studio 2005.
    Is there any conversion tool available.

    Thanks a lot in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,663
    You may have to do some rewriting.

    Set the code up and run and see what happens.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    102
    But I donot Know what to rewrite, can u please help me for rewriting the code

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,663
    And, you are not going to know what to rewrite until you load your project into 2005 and attempt to run it.

    If you have Option Strict On, then you may not even have to run it as it will point out any errors it finds.

    You are not (probably) going to be able to spot any problems until you try to actually use the project in the older Visual Studio version.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    155
    First thing to do is to change web.config section settings.
    With Visual Studio 2008, it mostly defaults to .NET framework 3/3.5 while most of the stuff for 2005 are 1.0.61025.0.
    I don't know the details of what you did so it's difficult to help at this point.
    Like Hack was saying, you may have to adjust your code to fit.

    What problems have you had while porting the site over?

    - Emefa

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan
    Posts
    8,663
    Quote Originally Posted by Emefa
    What problems have you had while porting the site over?
    At this point, he hasn't had any because he hasn't ported it yet. But, as mentioned, we can't solve a problem until the problem is defined.

    @ssss: The web.config section setting changes that Emefa suggested should be made, or at least looked at. Beyone that, you really need to just port it over and run it and see what happens.

Similar Threads

  1. Installing Visual Studio 2005
    By ssss in forum .NET
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-11-2008, 07:23 AM
  2. VS.Net and Code Behind
    By Chaitanya Marvici in forum ASP.NET
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-21-2003, 09:15 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2001, 06:08 PM
  4. Visual Studio.NET Resources
    By Robert Scoble in forum ASP.NET
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-20-2000, 04:11 AM
  5. Visual Studio.NET Resources
    By Robert Scoble in forum .NET
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-20-2000, 04:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center