DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Specify Port When Connecting Using Named Pipes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    24

    Specify Port When Connecting Using Named Pipes

    Is there any way to specify the port number when connection to SQL server using named pipes? Imagine a scenario where SQL Server is running over port 1500 and the Database Browser service is turned off, and a firewall blocks all access except on port 1500. How would you connect using the \\sqlerver\pipe\sql\query connection string?
    Last edited by arleyschrock; 03-09-2009 at 10:27 AM.
    Arley Schrock
    Email Me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    8,387
    The use of named pipes requires that port 445 be open. I don't know of any way to change the port.
    Phil Weber
    http://www.philweber.com

    Please post questions to the forums, where others may benefit.
    I do not offer free assistance by e-mail. Thank you!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-16-2006, 04:34 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-12-2003, 03:00 AM
  3. Named Pipe's or TCP/IP
    By Narto in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-29-2001, 10:47 PM
  4. Named Pipes
    By Rob Willis in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2000, 09:42 AM
  5. Named Pipes
    By Rob Willis in forum VB Classic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-18-2000, 05:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center
 
 
FAQ
Latest Articles
Java
.NET
XML
Database
Enterprise
Questions? Contact us.
C++
Web Development
Wireless
Latest Tips
Open Source


   Development Centers

   -- Android Development Center
   -- Cloud Development Project Center
   -- HTML5 Development Center
   -- Windows Mobile Development Center