DevX Home    Today's Headlines   Articles Archive   Tip Bank   Forums   

Thread: CSS @page questions

CSS @page questions

Hello folks. I'm a hobbyist programmer trying to figure something out.

I have a bunch of XML files that I wrote. They are formatted with XSL and CSS stylesheets. I then wrote a program that would take the contents of several of my XML files and combine them into an "uber-XML" file.

The end result looks great in Firefox; the data from each XML file is presented in a table. When I open an uber-XML file in Firefox, all the data is presented in a nice column of tables.

However, instead of 1 column continuous, I want 2-3 columns on pages (at least when I print). I want the tables to not break across pages or columns.

Someone in the .NET forum suggested using CSS files, and I found something called "@page", but I can't seem to get it to work. Before I go back there I want to give CSS another shot, but I need a little guidance.

Oh yes one last thing, all this is done in a Windows local environment, right off my hdd. I don't have a Web or Apache server or anything like that, just Firefox and a text editor (and visual studio).

Any guidance would be appreciated. Thanks!

Hi, I actually suggest the use of CSS for your issue, from the .NET forum side

This is quite a simple example of using CSS for print:
    Code:
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="print.css" type="text/css" media="print"  />
    http://www.webcredible.co.uk/user-fr...ylesheet.shtml

However, your issue with @page is a browser support issue:
    The @page rule and forcing Landscape orientation